Roofing license requirements in the United States by state
The Ultimate Guide to Licensed Roofers by State
Obtaining a roofer’s license is one of the crucial steps in becoming a legitimate, certified construction business. Since each state has different licensing requirements and regulations, you should know the details before you move and start your business.
So why do roofers need a license?
In addition to protecting your payment rights, having the right license helps you build trust with your customers. Also, working without a roofer’s license is illegal in some states and you could end up losing your rights.
These are the license requirements for each state.
In Alabama, licensing for roofing contractors is done by the General Contractors Licensing Board. The board oversees more than 8,000 state-licensed contractors, sets licensing requirements, and administers trade exams.
You need to have a license for commercial projects valued at $50,000 or more and residential projects valued at $10,000 or more. You must also pass a trade, business and law exam and show that you have completed at least three roofing projects in the last three years.
In Alaska, the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development oversees licenses for Roof Repair contractors. For a residential remodeling project, you must pass an exam and complete the Alaska Craftsman Home Program two years before applying for a license. You must post a $50,000 bond for a business license, have workers’ compensation insurance, and roofing liability insurance.
The Arizona Registry of Contractors (ROC) issues exams and licenses and handles business requirements in Arizona. For roofing work worth more than $1,000, it is necessary to have a state-issued roofing license. You must also provide your financial statement, pass a business exam, and show proof of a bond and workers’ compensation.
Licensing in Arkansas is handled by the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board. General construction work here, including roofing worth more than $2,000, requires a state license.
Licensing for building and construction in California is vested in the Contractors State Licensing Board (CSLB). To get your license, you must have at least four years of work experience in the last ten years. In addition to passing an exam, you need a surety bond of $15,000.
To handle any project that exceeds $500, you need a general contractor’s license. You will pay $330 to apply for the license and $200 after you pass your exams. You can run your handyman business without a license as long as you are paid less than $500 per task, including materials and labor.
If you’ve been wondering how to get a roofing license in my state, you’ll be glad to know that it’s a very simple process. In addition to the basic legal requirements, the California State Licensing Board will ask you to prove your experience as a day laborer. They should verify his experience through recommendations from any of the following:
Remember, you must renew your license once every two years. And if you have changed any general information about your business, you should reflect that on your renewal application.
Other California Roofing Requirements
California also requires you to have workers’ compensation insurance, even if you don’t have employees. Since roofing is an industry with numerous risks, it is wise to look beyond the state requirements.
Most contractors opt for general liability insurance, which covers many claims, such as property damage and injury. If you’re a handyman, you’ll be better off with handyman insurance for liability coverage.
Joining a trade organization is one way to differentiate your business from other California roofing experts. In addition to your insurance and license, having the support of a local business organization shows your customers that you are actively working to improve your business and your community.
There is no state license for general contractors, let alone a state licensing board in Colorado. In lieu of a roofer’s license, all you need to operate your business is a business license. Remember to check local requirements for local requirements and regulations.
In Connecticut, there is no state roofing license requirement for roofing contractors. Contractors are classified as minor or major. Minor contractors, commonly known as home improvement contractors, work on small multi-family units and private homes.
Large contractors may work on public and commercial projects. Both major and minor contractors must register their business with the Department of Consumer Protection.
Delaware does not have a specific license for roofing contractors. However, if you are working on projects worth more than $50,000, you must register with the Delaware Division of Revenue for a business license. To receive the license, you will need to take an approved training course and pass an exam.
You need a roofer’s license in Georgia if you are working on a task valued at more than $2,500. To be licensed, you must demonstrate two years of experience, proof of insurance, and the completion of two projects before taking the exams.
The Construction Industry Licensing Board (CILB) oversees licensing for roofing contractors in Florida. Here, licenses are divided into two categories: certified and registered. Certified contractors work throughout the state, while registered contractors can only work on projects in specific local jurisdictions.
Certified contractor license requirements include a background check, roofing insurance, and work experience. You need proof of financial responsibility for a registered contractor’s license, a certificate of competency, and business insurance.
In Hawaii, a state roofing license is required for projects worth more than $1,000. Before taking the exams, you must show that you have been in supervisory work for at least four years in the last ten years.
Idaho does not require licenses for roofing contractors. But you must register your business with the Idaho Contractors Board. Unlike most states, Idaho has no exam, experience, or education requirements. All you need is proof of insurance and your company information.
The Department of Professional Regulation oversees licenses for roofing contractors in Illinois. Illinois has three types of licenses:
Remember that you must take and pass the residential license exam before applying for a business/industrial license. You also need proof of insurance and a surety bond of $10,000.
Roofing contractors do not need a roofer’s license in Indiana. But check your local requirements to make sure you comply with all laws.
Iowa requires all construction contractors making more than $2,000 per year to register with the Division of Labor and purchase a roofer’s license. There is no exam requirement, but you must show proof of unemployment insurance.
Although there is no state license for roofing contractors in Kansas, you do need a roofing contractor registration certificate from the Kansas Attorney General. In addition, you must show proof of workers’ compensation and roofing liability insurance.
It is not a requirement to have a roofing license in Kentucky. But you can choose to become certified by the Kentucky Association of Roofing Contractors.
The Louisiana State Contractors Licensing Board handles licenses for roofing contractors in Louisiana. You need a state license for any construction work over $75,000 and home repairs worth more than $7,500. In addition to passing your exams, you must show proof of workers’ compensation and general liability insurance.
Licensing for roofing contractors is not required in Maine. But if you work with asbestos, you will need a Conditional Asbestos Abatement License issued by the Department of Environmental Protection.
Licenses in Maryland are somewhat all over the place. For example, general contractors can build homes without a license, but must register with the Office of the Attorney General’s Home Builders Registration Unit.
If your roofing work falls under the Home Improvement category, you will need to have a roofer’s license. To apply for one, you must pass the exam and have at least two years of work experience.
The state Building Rules and Regulations Board oversees licensing for roofing contractors in Massachusetts. To run your business, you need a Construction Supervisor License (CSL) .
There are two types of licenses, restricted license (1-2 family housing) and unrestricted license (projects exceeding 35,000 cubic feet). You can only acquire this license after passing an exam and demonstrating three years of work experience.
Generally, most licenses for roofing contractors in Michigan go through the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA). To apply for the license, you must pass an exam after completing 60 hours of education.
To start your roofing business in Minnesota, you need a roofer’s license if your total value exceeds $15,000 per year. Before obtaining the permit, you must first pass the roofing trade exam, post a $15,000 surety bond, and show proof of insurance.
The Mississippi State Contractors Board regulates roofers’ licenses, educates consumers, and enforces licensing laws in Mississippi. All residential roofing jobs worth more than $10,000 require a residential roofing license. Before the board will approve you for a license, you must have insurance, show your finances, and pass the trade, business, and law exam.
There is no state license for roofing contractors in Missouri. However, most licensing regulation is done by counties and municipalities. Therefore, it is advisable to check locally for license requirements.
You are not required to have a state license to conduct your business in Montana. Just be sure to register with the state Department of Labor and Industry.
In Nebraska, most state regulations focus on registration rather than licensing. All contractors receiving more than $5,000 per year must register with the state Department of Labor.
The Nevada State Contractors Board handles licenses for roofing contractors in Nevada. To receive the C-15a Roofing Contractor License, you must have at least four years of work experience within the last ten years, obtain a bond, and show your finances. You will also need to show proof of workers’ compensation coverage and take the trade, business and law exams.
Unless you work with asbestos, you do not need a roofing license to start your roofing business in New Hampshire.
New Jersey does not require roofing contractors to be licensed, but you must register your business with specific state offices.
In New Mexico, every contractor must have a license . Before taking the exam, he must have at least two years of work experience.
You do not need a roofer’s license to work in New York. But be sure to check your local licensing requirements before starting work.
Licensing for roofing contractors in North Carolina is conducted by the General Contractors Licensing Board. You need a state license for projects valued at $30,000 or more.
In North Dakota, all roofing contractors doing work worth $4,000 or more are required to be licensed. You can request any of the four classes of licenses available, depending on the size of your projects. Although there is no exam requirement, you must show proof of liability insurance and workers’ compensation insurance.
Ohio does not have state licenses for roofing contractors, but there may be licensing requirements at the local level.
In Oklahoma, roofing contractors do not need to have state-issued licenses. All you need is a roofing contractor registration, which you can acquire by showing proof of liability and workers’ compensation insurance.
The Oregon Board of Building Contractors issues licenses for roofers in Oregon. In addition to completing pre-licensing training, you must pass an exam and show proof of insurance before receiving a license.
You do not need a roofer’s license to work in Pennsylvania. However, check locally for licensing requirements before starting work.
Roofing contractors in Rhode Island must have a state license to work. To become licensed, you must pass an exam and complete ten hours of roofing education each year. Also, you must be bonded and show proof of insurance.
If you fall into the category of residential specialty contractor in South Carolina, you do not need a state roofers license for your business. However, you must register with the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.
In South Dakota, licensing is done in the municipalities. That is why it is advisable to check locally for license requirements before starting work.
You need a state license for any project worth more than $25,000 in Tennessee. To be licensed, you must pass a trade, law and trade exam, provide a financial statement, and show proof of insurance.
Roofing contractors in Texas are not required to have a license issued by the state. But the Roofing Contractors Association offers a voluntary licensing process for those interested.
In Utah, all contractors, including roofing contractors, must obtain a license issued by the state. To acquire a roofer’s license, you must show proof of insurance, four years of work experience, and pass trade, business, and law exams.
There are no state licenses for roofing contractors in Vermont. But before starting work, check locally for regulations and requirements.
You will need a license for roofing contractors to work in Virginia. When applying for one, you must choose the level you want, as well as your specialty:
- Class A – allows you to work on projects worth $10,000
- Class B – allows you to work on projects with a maximum value of $120,000
- Class C – Unlimited licenses
Roofing contractors in Washington do not require a state license. But remember to register with the Department of Labor and Industries (DLI) .
Construction workers, including roofing contractors, need permits to work in West Virginia. To receive a roofer’s license, you must first pass a trade, law and business exam and then show proof of workers’ compensation coverage.
You do not need a roofer’s license to work in Wisconsin. But you will need to be certified if you work with asbestos.
You don’t need a roofer’s license to work in Wyoming, but be sure to check local licensing requirements before you begin work.